What is Hadith?
The Hadith is the record of the sayings of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). The sayings and conduct of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) constitute the Sunnah.

Hadith online text and search engine - click here
The Hadith has come to supplement the Holy Qur’an as a source of the Islamic religious law. The Hadith is the second pillar after the Qur’an upon which every Muslim rests his faith. Hadith consists of Mat'n and Isnad. Mat'n means the text of the Hadith, while Isnad means the chain of transmitters to that Hadith.

The scholars of the Hadith literature divided the Traditions into categories according to the degree of authenticity and reliability, each category had to meet certain criteria.

Hadith categories are as follows:

1. Sahih: The genuine Traditions, the authentic ones.

2. Moothaq: Almost like the Sahih but the narration is not as strong as those of the Sahih.

3. Hassan: The fair Traditions although inferior in matter of authenticity.

4. Dha'eef: The weak Traditions which are not so reliable.

In Shari'ah (Islamic Constitution) deeds and actions are divided into five classes:

1. Fardh or Wajib: An obligatory duty the omission of which is Islamically punishable.

2. Mustahab: An action which is rewarded, but whose omission is not punishable.

3. Mubaah: An action which is permitted but legally is indifferent.

4. Makrooh: An action which is disapproved by the Shari'ah but is not under any penalty.

5. Haram: An action which is forbidden, and Islamically punishable.

Hadith online text and search engine - click here